Expression Web with Front Page Extensions RRS feed

• Question

• I am a high school coach that knows nothing about web page design.  I started my team site on Frontpage, way back in the day, then changed to Expression Web 5-6 years ago.  I have liked the simplicity of opening up my site -- cutting and pasting and excel stat sheet into the site -- updating it daily for players to see.  

I'm using GoDaddy to host.  

When I logged in this month to update my site, I got an error like:

(I update is through <g class="gr_ gr_442 gr-alert gr_spell gr_inline_cards gr_run_anim ContextualSpelling ins-del multiReplace" data-gr-id="442" id="442">http</g>:)

Unable to open site.  Possible causes:

1) the web server may be temporarily out of service

etc. etc.

I assume it is because of my front page extensions.

My site is supposed to look like this:

http://greatoakgolf.com/2017.htm

But, when I update it, (I have only updated my "Schedule" link) it looks like this.  (I lose my menu bar.)

http://greatoakgolf.com/Schedule.htm

Does anyone out there know if anything has changed the last six months with either GoDaddy or Expression Web?

Thanks so much for the help!

Sunday, October 1, 2017 7:53 PM

All replies

• Front Page Extensions is old and not supported anymore. You probably know that. I think the current equivalent is Web Deploy. I think it only works from Visual Studio. Unfortunately GoDaddy does not support Web Deploy for shared accounts; at least I have been unable to get it to work except it works once for a website then stops working for it.

I assume you are using Expression Web 4. You do not specify how you are uploading pages from Expression Web. I think the only choice is FTP. If you are using FTP then there should not be a problem uploading.

You can use GoDaddy to look at the pages that are in the site. Go to "Manage" from your website hosting and in "Websites & Domains" click on ""File Manager".