IIF expression RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am new to SSRS and stuck with this problem

I want to merge a few IIF expression into one:

(1) =IIF(Fields!abc.Value = "", "Missing abc","")
    (2) =IIF(Fields!def.value = "", "Missing def","")
    (3) =IIF(Fields!ghi.value = "", "Missing ghi","")

and so on....i have 9 such arguements

basically i want to disply something like this...display only missing info for each id. If one id is missing more than one field value that id should be repeated with another missing info (e.g. ID 2 is missing two field values so it is repeated twice.)

Hope it explains what i am trying to say...

Please help me out....

Thanks

<!-- /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} -->

ID

Desc

Missing abc

Missing abc

Missinf def

Missing ghi

Missing abc

Missing ghi

Thursday, April 15, 2010 4:27 PM

Answers

• It looks like this would be best handled with a Switch statement and not Iif:

=SWITCH(Fields!abc.Value = "", "Missing abc",Fields!def.value = "", "Missing def",Fields!ghi.value = "", "Missing ghi")

Either this, or you could nest your IIF statements, which would be the best solution if you need the final ELSE:

=IIF(Fields!abc.Value = "", "Missing abc",IIF(Fields!def.value = "", "Missing def",IIF(Fields!ghi.value = "", "Missing ghi","")))

Aaron Jarboe

-Remember to mark as an answer if this post has helped you.
    • Marked as answer by Mike_Do Thursday, April 15, 2010 5:42 PM
    Thursday, April 15, 2010 4:50 PM
  • I assume that your data is something like this:

id ABC DEF GHI
    1 'a' '' ''
    2 '' 'a' ''