Matching order and receipt dates in separate tables RRS feed

• General discussion

• I have two fact tables, one for orders and one for receipts.  The tables do not have a relationship because the purchase order (PO)numbers they key from have many:many.  One PO has multiple line numbers, and each line number can have multiple items received.

For example,

In the order table PO #123 has line item #2 with a quantity of 5 widgets ordered on July 1.  A calculated due date is July 3

In the receipt table PO #123 and line item #2 has 2 items received on July 2, 2 on July 5, and 1 on July 6.

I would like to define a measure that tells me by PO, by line (or average across lines if I want to look at the whole PO)

- how many items and what % were delivered within 1 day

- what was the max # of days for all the items in the line to have been delivered (e.g. MAX delivery date for the lines)

- what quantity and % of items were delivered past the due date

As a newbie I don't know if i should look to dynamically create a lookup table of unique PO #'s and lines or if there's something I can do with DAX and RELATED() or similar functions.  Thanks for any help!

Friday, July 17, 2015 7:19 PM

All replies

• Can you use Power Query to create a Merge query to get all of the data per PO# and Line # on a single row? Because if you do that, everything you want to do is trivial.
    Friday, July 17, 2015 8:48 PM
  • Can you post a sample of your data rows, I'm having trouble visualizing what your data looks like, especially for the receipt table, are there multiple rows for each receipt or are the two receipts in 4 columns?
    Saturday, July 18, 2015 12:08 AM