Too many "New project" options. Where do I start? Making a proof-of-concept AWS login page RRS feed

• Question

• User-1573194908 posted

I'm a bit new to making web sites / web services, and the amount of options is overwhelming. There are plenty of tutorials, but they're inadequate for telling me what kind of project I actually want to make. None of the tutorials actually do exactly the thing I want to do, and I can't tell which of them are most suited for modifying into doing the thing I want to do.

For now, I want to make a proof of concept login page. Eventually, it will be a user portal that replaces one that uses ASP.NET Web Forms. The site and most of the data will be hosted on the premises, but login credentials and user info will be stored on AWS and accessed through the Cognito SDK. I want to also be able to make it mobile accessible, but I haven't yet decided if this will be through mobile apps, or a mobile page, or through adaptive CSS (I'm leaning toward adaptive CSS).

But I am seeing so many options, and am having trouble sifting through the pros and cons of each. Under "Web Application" alone, options I see include:

• Do I want to enable Docker Support? I'm not really sure what that is, even after looking at the page.
    • What type of authentication do I use since I'm authenticating with the Cognito SDK?
    • I want HTTPS enabled, right?
    • .NET Core or .NET Framework?
    • If Core, then which sub-option?
      • API
      • Web Application
      • Web Application MVC
      • Angular
      • React.js
      • React.js / Redux
    • If Framework, then which sub-option?
      • Web Forms
      • MVC
      • Web API
      • Single Page Application

There's also a bunch of project templates directly related to AWS:

• AWS Lambda
    • AWS Serverless
    • AWS Web Project
    • AWS Identity and Access Manager Instance Profile
    • AWS Identity and Access Manager User