none
Provide initial name for the GetSelectNamesDialog? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.

I am a novice VBA user and have setup a macro which calls the GetSelectNamesDialog for user name resolution (and eventual email notifications in another macro).

The user currently types a name into a cell in Excel and the macro fires to resolve the name and replace it with the "Alias" in Outlook's global address list.  if the typed name is not resolved, the macro tries the last name only, and if that is still not resolved it brings up the GetSelectNamesDialog for single name selecting only, and populates the result into the cell.  Works great, but I would like to add a convenience to the user for the case where the GetSelectNamesDialog pops up:  I see in Outlook SelectName dialog that it will fill in the "search" name to filter the list.  I would like to do this with the user last name.  Can I set a property of the dialog or send a string to it as the initial search?  How do they do it in Outlook?  See picture.

It will not let me attach a code snippet or picture yet.  Will do as soon as able.

Thank you for your help.

Aaron

With picture:

Monday, October 10, 2016 4:45 PM

Answers

• Hello Aaron,

You are interested in the Recipients property of the SelectNamesDialog class which returns a Recipients collection object that represents the recipients selected in the Select Names dialog, or sets a Recipients collection object that represents the initial recipients to be displayed in the Select Names dialog box.

This property specifies a Recipients collection object that has a Recipients.Count equal to the total number of recipients in the To, Cc, and Bcc edit boxes.

If you do not set this property before displaying the Select Names dialog box, then the Recipients object represented bySelectNamesDialog.Recipients will have a Recipients.Count equal to zero.