Need help/advice regarding Workflow Services, IIdentity, Message Correlation etc. RRS feed

• Question

• All,

Short version- How do you do this with all custom, code-based activities, assuming that the Pick itself is a designer element.

Long Version:

I've been working with WF4 for a few months and am currently developing a system that will be used for monitoring approval requests.  Basically, the system is pretty simple, for each of a handful of entities, there is a Workflow Service that is comprised of a few operations, and each Workflow service exposes the exact same operations.  One of the operations creates a new workflow instance and the others use correlation to resume the original workflow at various stages of the (human) process.  I had all of this working for a single entity (designer-based) without much trouble, but needed to abstract things in order to be able to make it easy to instantiate a new workflow service (new entity) when someone else is maintaining the system.  So I recreated what I had in the designer in code-based Activities which I also had working successfully.

More head-scratching / trial and error got me to being able to invoke the new code-based workflows from within a workflow service.  Since, at that point all messaging housekeeping was still being done by the designer-based messaging activities, so this was pretty easy to get wired up.

The problem came when a requirement came into view that I would need to access the IIdentity (impersonated through the WCF Bindings) of the client user.  This sounded like it should be relatively easy but turned out to be quite a challenge.  My first clue that this would be a challenge came with this MSDN entry:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff452450.aspx