none
Notification to Project Manager if project activity finished in MS Project Pro 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• Dear All

Is there any possibility of linking Task from One project to another project in MS Project Pro 2013?

Case 1) If i have one Project A & i am a manager of that Project whereas there is one more Project B along with Project Manager B. So in that case, if there are multiple Task in Project A but some task are predecessor of Project B. So, how can i link such task for different Project.

Case 2) can we send some notification (Mails) to another Project manager from Project Pro 2013 that Task from Project A has finished & you can start your Project B?

Kindly suggest..

Thursday, November 6, 2014 6:52 AM

All replies

• Hi,

You didn't mention if you are using project server?

1. You can link tasks from one project to tasks in another project. This can be done either by:

-  inserting both projects in a temporary master project and link the tasks as you normally do and at the end do not save the master project but save the changes to the projects

- in the predecessor column enter ProjectName\taskid (e.g. Project1\12)

the user must be able to edit both projects in order to link the tasks

2. The options I can think of:

- report with reporting services that is via email to the other project manager (applicable if you are using project server)

- VBA macro

Hope this helps

Paul

Thursday, November 6, 2014 10:23 AM
  • Thanks Paul,

I am using Project Server as well but we want to try this option instead of going for PWA 2013.

Do you have any info on how to achieve Option 2 through VBA? Bcz in option 1, we dont want that every project managers can see other's project information.

Thursday, November 6, 2014 11:19 AM
  • Hi,

You can add the macro in MS Project and the project manager can run that when the tasks are updated and an email can be sent. I know I discussed with someone on the forum about a similar macro, I'll see if I can find it.