About choosing the right generic contracts when creating services RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a novice concerning MSRDS.

I require functionality from the RoboticsCommon library in order to use an ANALOG CAMERA. I know that a reference to the Robotics Common Library should be made through its proxy DLL, RoboticsCommon.Proxy.dll.

In C# Express 2008, when I right-click on References in the Solution Explorer and choose Add Reference, which generic contract should I use with my ANALOG CAMERA? 

The Explorer will "listen" to the Analog Camera Service events and send instructions to a Solenoid Service (actuator).

I suppose when I create the Solenoid Service I will again need to select the correct generic contract. What would the correct generic contract for a solenoid device be?

Can one Solenoid Service run multiple solenoids? ; or if I have 5 solenoids do I need a seperate service for each solenoid?

Thanks.

SamQ

Sunday, August 17, 2008 4:08 AM

Answers

• Hi Sam,

Sorry I did not reply sooner. I look for unanswered messages, and I did not notice your response.

I guess you can liken a generic contract to a superclass, but there is no real "inheritance" in MRDS.

All you need to do to create a service without a generic contract is use DssNewService. Check out Service Tutorial 1.

The "action" messages will be notifications. They can occur asynchronously. Consumers of the notifications have to subscribe. (It is basically a Publish-Subscribe model).