Killing Another Users Process RRS feed

• Question

• I have a requirement as part of an application that must let certain users be able to kill the application for a selected user.  None of the users using the tool will be administrators on the machine, I cannot disable UAC, and the application for both the killer and killee are running on the same machine (Terminal Server).  

I started out using the following code:

System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo processInfo = new System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo("taskkill.exe", arguments); processInfo.Verb = "runas";

var process = System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(processInfo); process.WaitForExit();

This worked great for me because I am an admin on the machine.  When a non-admin tries to run this they get the UAC screen and are prompted for credentials.  This makes sense so I modified my code to this:

System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo processInfo = new System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo("taskkill.exe", arguments); processInfo.Verb = "runas";

processInfo.UseShellExecute = false; processInfo.CreateNoWindow = true;

processInfo.UserName = "MYADMINUSERNAME";

processInfo.Domain = "MYDOMAIN"; processInfo.Password = password;

var process = System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(processInfo); process.WaitForExit();

When I run this version of the code that passes credentials I get a 'Access is denied' error at:

Stack Trace:

Win32Exception:

at System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithCreateProcess(ProcessStartInfo startInfo)

at System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(ProcessStartInfo startInfo)

Is there anyway to let non-admin users run the taskkill.exe against a different users process without disabling UAC and without receiving the UAC prompt?

Wednesday, October 9, 2013 5:52 PM

Answers