Entity Framework - Loading related entities RRS feed

• Question

• I am using the entity framework to manipulate large ammounts of data. I am new to the entity framework so please bare  with me.

The way I have designed the database model context, I am relating a User entity loaded from the database (as the logged user) and I am trying to bind the related Tickets that this instance contains.

var tickets = (from p in User.Tickets
                        where p.Date != DateTime.Now.Date
                        orderby p.Date descending
                        select p).Skip<Ticket>(0).Take<Ticket>(10);

Then I am binding it with a wpf list view

ticketList.ItemsSource = tickets;

Finally I am Lazy loading the related data

User.Tickets.Load();

Binding to a small amount of data returned takes no time at all.

Changing the schema, this query without any limits would return more than 20000 results (tickets). When doing so, even if I use the Skip and Take methods the application hangs at the Load() statement and the results show up hours latter...

I appreciate any help and every suggestion that can point me to the right direction.

Thank you
    Wednesday, February 10, 2010 12:50 PM

Answers

• Not sure if I was not able to convey my point successfully in my earlier post or we are thinking in opposite directions as my answer is still similar.

* If you want to load ALL the tickets associated with a user, try user.Tickets.Load(). I dont think there is any way to load subset of child entries via Load() method.

* However, to load a subset of tickets, you can try:

//user for which you want to retrieve tickets
    var myUser = ...; 

//build a query to get 10 latest tickets for that particular user
    var query = (from t in db.Tickets where t.User.UserID == myUser.UserID select t).OrderByDescending(t=>t.Date).Take(10);

//run the query to get the tickets (EF will relate to that user automatically)
    query.ToList();

//now user.Tickets will have those 10 records