SQL Server 2008 Permissions granted to group do not work RRS feed

• Question

• Warning: I'm semi-new to SQL server.  I have had some experience with it, but not all that much.  

I have a situation where I have granted permissions to a group using SSMS, copied from a previous user who had the right permissions, but the user in that group is unable to access the table needed.  (The user did reboot her system after I added her to the group and the rights were assigned.)  If I assign the same permissions directly to that AD user account, everything works fine.  Of course, I do not want to leave it that way, and would rather have the permissions granted through the group for future employees in that department, and clean up our permissions on the databases.  Most of the permissions on that SQL server and the 3 databases on it are assigned to groups and work fine.  It is just this one group where the permissions aren't going through properly.  

Is there something I'm missing?  Some process in SQL Server I have to do to make the permissions effective?

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 5:33 PM

All replies

• Hi dgingeri,

>>If I assign the same permissions directly to that AD user account, everything works fine.

I’m not sure how you configuration looks like, but I’d suggest you perform a quick check with the steps below:
    1. Verify your windows account’s permission path with the statement below.
    2. Check the effective permission on the objects.
    ----STEP1 
    EXEC master.sys.xp_logininfo @acctname = 'WINDOWSACCOUNTNAME',@option = 'all';
    GO	
    ----STEP2
    EXECUTE AS LOGIN = 'WINDOWSACCOUNTNAME';
    GO	
    ----Check effective permission on a object
    SELECT *
    FROM fn_my_permissions('SCHEMANAME.OBJECTNAME', 'OBJECT');
    GO

If you have any other questions, please let me know.

Regards,
    Lin

MSDN Community Support