Auto increment on insert RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all

I am fairly new to Lightswitch/VB and I know this is a well discussed topic. Have spent many hours reading through this forum and trying to get this to work with no success.

Basically all I am trying to do is have a unique integer field called "ContractNumber" in an entity called "Contracts" which auto increments for each new contract that's created.

There will mainly be one user creating contracts but in the event of multiple users entering contract information I need to prevent the same contract number being assigned to 2 different contracts.

I have tried writing code into contracts_inserting but not having much joy.

Any help you can offer will be much appreciated.

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 12:31 PM

Answers

• Thanks guys for you help and suggestions.  Finally decided to include 4 characters from the business name field followed by a random number.
    • Marked as answer by Angie Xu Friday, March 29, 2013 7:31 AM
    Tuesday, March 26, 2013 3:12 PM

All replies

• Let me ask a couple of important questions first (although you may have seen them in the threads you've read).

1. Does the ContractNumber value "matter"? (Can it be any number, maybe padded on the left with zeroes to a particular number of characters ie "0000100"?)
    2. Do the numbers HAVE to be sequential, with no gaps?

If the answer to both is "no", then your job is MUCH easier, & you can simply use the value of the entity's ID property, in either a computed property, or in a stored property.

Yann - LightSwitch Central - Click here for FREE Themes, Controls, Types and Commands

Please click "Mark as Answer" if a reply answers your question. Please click "Vote as Helpful" , if you find a reply helpful.

By doing this you'll help others to find answers faster.

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 1:20 PM
  • Hi Yann