SkyDrive SDK - first impressions. Not good ones. RRS feed

• Question

• Here is my first time experience with the Windows Phone SkyDrive API. I am not a novice developer, being a Silverlight MVP, and more than 13 years of Microsoft development behind me, but I am new to the Live SDK.

My goal is to create a directory on SkyDrive, list the files in there, upload a new one and download one which the user has selected. Nothing complicated.

I made the mistake of not downloading any samples. I tried to get by from the API itself, the online documentation and fellow blogger’s posts. Here is how it went.

1. I wasted almost two hours with the login button not working – the reason was that “mobile” was not set for the application ID I created. There was no error message on the phone, nothing – the login button control showed me some progress dots, and then returned without the login dialog ever showing up.
      How this can be fixed: Creating the application ID should not just create one, but take me to the edit details screens. That way I would have KNOWN there was more behind the application IDs than just a name. And show a proper error message.
    2. I wasted over an hour with uploading my first file. I naively thought that I would create the target folder from the SkyDrive web interface, and just tell the LiveConnectClient to upload to that folder. The UploadAsync method has a path parameter of string, so I expected it to be a simple Windows-like path. No such luck. The problem was even worse: the UploadAsync method’s completed event was never called, instead I got a parameter null exception from inside the Live SDK. Since it came on a separate background thread, it counts as a top level exception, and there is no good way to catch it and show the error to the user.