AutoCompleteExtender - Fill multiple textboxes RRS feed

• Question

• User11355836 posted

Hey,

I am using the AutoCompleteExtender and I would like to fill multiple boxes depending on what is returned and not sure the best way of doing so. 

If possible I would like to do a search on a name, when that name is selected (clicked or Enter pressed) I would like to return the ID of the person from the DB to another method to gather all the information from the Database and pre populate other textboxes, the name slelected would populate the AutoComplete text box.  Is there a way to call another method after a selection has been made on the AutoCompleteExtender?

Thanks,

Curtis

Monday, August 25, 2008 6:22 PM

Answers

• User583989486 posted

Hi Kingsley,

Pls is there anyway to do that. I am quite new to Ajax and javascript. 

Add an UpdatePanel to your page and move the ListBox , TextBox and its tied AutoCompleteExtender to the UpdatePanel.    When the we select from the AutoCompleteList, we manually force the UpdatePanel to be refreshed.     For example,

<UpdatePanel UpdateMode="Conditional">

<TextBox><AutoCompleteExtender>

<ListBox>

<Hidden Button> // for example, <asp:Button ID="Button1" runat="server" Text="Button" onclick="Button1_Click" style="display:none"/>

</UpdatePanel>

function AutoCompleteExtender2_ItemSelected(source, eventArgs ){

$get("<%=Button1.ClientID%>").click();   // this will force the UpdatePanel to be refreshed.      

}

On code behind, we can do something on the Button's click event.  For example,

protected void Button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {

}

To me, I would prefer the former one, which is much more effective by avoiding postback.  By the way, AJAX works depend on Javascript.  Therefore, we recommend that you'd better take a look at Javascript Language Sepcification.

Best regards,

Jonathan

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Thursday, August 28, 2008 2:57 AM

All replies