none
Macro to Save Excel file using cell references to create file Save As Name and Create A Folder RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, would any of you kind folks out there be able to help me out creating a macro to create a file name using 2 cell references contained within a worksheet and then creating a folder name using the 2 same cell references. I have NO experience with macro's and my attempts so far, have failed miserably!!

We use Excel 2016 and have a file called 'Customer Record.xlsm'. This file contains a number of worksheets with protected cells to prevent users from changing \ altering cell contents. The file is also a READ ONLY file.

Sheet 2 (INFO Capture) contains 2 cells that I would like to use to create a file name and also create a folder name.

Cell K2 contains a date

Cell J10 contains text (a customer surname)

The macro should create a file name in the following format 'Surname 20180423'

The macro should create a folder name in the following format 'Surname 20180423'

The macro should create the folder in the following location: - 

C:\Users\TY\OneDrive - TCKRC\Jobs 1 Estimates

The macro should execute when 'Save As' is clicked or some other keystroke.

Thanking you in advance of finding a solution!

Tuesday, April 24, 2018 7:23 AM

Answers

• Hell T6NYY,

Please try to refer to below code and adjust it for your need.

Sub Test()
    UserNameStr = Worksheets("INFO Capture").Range("J10").Value
    DateStr = Format(Worksheets("INFO Capture").Range("K2").Value, "YYYYMMDD")
    FileNameStr = UserNameStr & " " & DateStr
    FolderNameStr = UserNameStr & " " & DateStr
    FullFolderStr = "C:\Users\terryx\Desktop\TestFolder\" & FolderNameStr

'if the folder does not exist, create the folder
        Set FSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
        If FSO.FolderExists(FullFolderStr) = False Then
            MkDir FullFolderStr
        End If
    'save the document to the folder
    ActiveWorkbook.SaveAs FullFolderStr & "\" & FileNameStr