Advice on how to create large report RRS feed

• Question

• User1355545883 posted

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to SSRS, having created a few small reports which reference a simple stored procedure to get data. But I have a whopper assigned to me.  It's not necessarily difficult, just huge.  The finished report is to be a collection of approx. 20 tables, each with 7 columns and 6 rows.  Each cell is a COUNT from a sql query (i.e. SELECT COUNT(*) FROM table).

Surely there must be a more efficient way than creating a separate dataset for each cell in 20 tables.  That's hundreds of datasets.

I thought of creating a temp table in my stored procedure housing all of the data, but I'm not sure how to extract it on the SSRS end, and populate each individual cell.

I would greatly appreciate any advice or suggestions you might have.

Thank you.

Monday, August 19, 2013 9:05 AM

Answers

• User-67082742 posted

Hi,

Not sure if i get the problem correctly but here is a suggestion :

Create a report R1.rdl as general table with columns that you like to show the count. Write the query of dataset as parmeterized like : select count (* ) @col from @table.

You will have the colname and tablename listed in report parameters when done.

Now add another report Main.rdl and add a table to it with single column. Add the previous r1.rdl report as a subreport in this table. You will need to group the subreport row on a dataset field.  The dataset can be a list of all tablenames and column names that you need. This way you will just need a table in your DB which houses all tablenames and colnames required for count. The serialnumber field can be added for helping with group. The subreport will accept a unique tablename and colname as paarmeters for each group iteration and would generate the required report.

Please let me know if this helps. I assume here that the query governing all is Select count(*) colname from tablename

Tahnks,

AB