none
BinaryRead & BinaryWrite RRS feed

• Question

• Windows 8.1 : Visual Studio 2017 : VB

I'm trying to write an App to use on my Desktop PC.   The App needs to load two Integer arrays at startup. I then need to amend (update) them and save them back to file again on shutdown.

I'm a self-taught programmer and not too far advanced.  I have been trying to use binaryWrite/BinaryRead by following examples on the internet searches.  Even tried the examples on Microsoft's pages, but I can't get them to work.  I can read & write text files, but reading and saving integer arrays is beyond me.

I'm 77 years of age and ( I was going to say, "I'm dying to get it solved", but I don't want to push my luck too far.) but I would really appreciate some help.

Ray

XIXray

Monday, August 14, 2017 8:45 PM

All replies

• Windows 8.1 : Visual Studio 2017 : VB

I'm trying to write an App to use on my Desktop PC.   The App needs to load two Integer arrays at startup. I then need to amend (update) them and save them back to file again on shutdown.

I'm a self-taught programmer and not too far advanced.  I have been trying to use binaryWrite/BinaryRead by following examples on the internet searches.  Even tried the examples on Microsoft's pages, but I can't get them to work.  I can read & write text files, but reading and saving integer arrays is beyond me.

I'm 77 years of age and ( I was going to say, "I'm dying to get it solved", but I don't want to push my luck too far.) but I would really appreciate some help.

Ray

XIXray

Dear spring chicken,

;-)

It sounds like you're asking about data persistence, am I right? How to "save and restore the state".

If so, on the high end of it, binary serialization is fast and makes for a small file but you might also consider saving to/restoring from XML or, for that matter, just a .csv file.

Does that sound like what you're wanting to do?

***** EDIT *****

Also, you can use Application Settings for this: