locked
Memory dump RRS feed

  • Question

  • If server is configured for full memory dump, each time the server crashes, will a new dump file be created or existing dump file is updated?
    Thursday, January 9, 2020 12:58 PM

All replies

  • By default, when a crash occur, a minidump is created under %systemroot%\minidumps like c:\windows\minidumps. If your system is configured to generate a full dump then MEMORY.DMP file will be created under %systemroot%\.

    I don't see a problem by chaging the location of dump files.

    For debugging dump files using Windbg, refer to this Microsoft article: 

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315263

     https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/254649/overview-of-memory-dump-file-options-for-windows

    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/client-management/generate-kernel-or-complete-crash-dump

    Saturday, January 11, 2020 9:09 AM
  • When there is a BSOD dump files may or may not be created.

    A memory dump from a prior crash is independent from the memory dump of a new crash.

    There are multiple startup and recovery system failure settings.

    For write debugging information the automatic memory dump or kernel memory dump settings are better choices if you intend to get help debugging.

    The complete memory dump collects users in addition to kernel at the time of the BSOD.

    The users is rarely used in the debugging.

    The file size will likely be too large to download(most websites will offer debugging help on memory dumps for file sizes < 1 GB).  

    Other startup and recovery settings are:

    a) overwrite any existing file

    b) disable automatic deletion of memory dumps when disk space is low

    If you have plenty of storage space then uncheck overwrite any existing file.

    Memory dump files are automatically deleted when there is only 25 GB free space.

    For the question:  

    If server is configured for full memory dump, each time the server crashes, will a new dump file be created or existing dump file is updated?

    They are independent configuration settings.

    If the overwrite box is checked the existing memory dump file is deleted.

    If the overwrite box is unchecked additional memory dumps should remain.

    Over time Windows can delete memory and mini dumps despite the chosen settings.

    So if you definitely want to maintain them consider placing them in another folder.

    .
    .
    .
    .
    .

    Please remember to vote and to mark the replies as answers if they help.

    On the bottom of each post there is: 

    Propose as answer = answered the question

    On the left side of each post:  Vote = a helpful post
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .




    Saturday, January 11, 2020 9:40 AM