Creating images in design for websites that scale.... RRS feed

• Question

• I am currently creating dynamic scalable graphics in design for a software application at my work. I am wanting to expand my talents into scalable graphics for the company website. I am by no means a web developer so I get lost in web lingo quickly. What would be the desired saving format for scalable vector art to be placed on a website. I like the XAML saving features for my software apps due to the decreased file size and flexability but can I use that on the web? Should I save for Silverlight? What if someone doesn't have silverlight on there comp will they be able to view my web graphics.
    remove the warning labels to remove the stupid people of this world..
    Friday, March 28, 2008 3:31 PM

All replies

• Good questions. I know there's a way to create scalable graphics in a WPF application but so far I haven't found a way to do that for a Silverlight app. As far as whether people can see your graphics on a web page without the Silverlight plugin, yes they can see them but they would be static.

I'll see what I can find out about scalable graphics for Silverlight.
    Annie
    Friday, March 28, 2008 3:55 PM
  • I don't really mind what format it's in as long as I can put an image on the web that will scale with the changing size of the viewing window, and still hold onto it's quality!
    Friday, March 28, 2008 3:57 PM
  • You might look into the RenderTransform property. You can scale images using ScaleTransform. I'm still new at Silverlight so I'm not sure how you'd program to scale according to resolution. At any rate, in answer to your question that I forgot to answer, yes you would export to Silverlight or use Edit > Copy XAML and paste the XAML into Blend. Expression Web does not currently support Silverlight (I believe) so you'll have to work in Blend.
    Annie
    Friday, March 28, 2008 4:06 PM