Is AppFabric a good solution for storing cached images? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have an existing Asp.Net MVC 2.0 application that is responsible for serving up images to the end user. There multiple terabytes of images. The images are stored in TIFF format, and must be kept that way due to project requirements. Right now when an image is requested, the MVC app converts (on the fly) the image to something that can be displayed in a browser (PNG or JPG) and adds some compression (also on the fly) to make the file a bit smaller and speed up transmission times.

I am looking at creating some sort of service that would run in the background and do the file conversion and compression up front before the image is ever retrieved, with the goal of cutting out the time needed to do those tasks and speed up the application for the end user.

I am really new to AppFabric. In my scenario, would AppFabric caching be a good fit? Can one application (the conversion service) write to the AppFabric cache and another application (the MVC 2.0 app) read from that same cache?

Thanks,

David

Monday, July 12, 2010 2:33 PM

Answers

• At this time, there is no automatic way to make AppFabric store items to durable memory (disk/database/etc). A custom provider would not help, because the provider deals with storing the configuration settings for the cluster (which cache hosts are in the cluster, the named caches, etc). The items themseles are designed to be stored in-memory. With that said, your service that converts the images could store them to durable memory after placing them in the cache. Then the next time you have to populate the cache, you could do this from disk rather than having to retriee the TIFF and perform the conversion again. Or the application could look in the cache first and in the durable location second and only then go to the database to do the retrieval manually as a last resort.

Jason

• Marked as answer by racingcow Tuesday, July 13, 2010 3:08 PM