none
Update method not calling InsertCommand code RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am a complete beginner to C#.  I am learning how to write a webservice which does the following:

application
    1) a datagrid that links to my backend database (BACKOFFICE) and allows me to add/edit/delete records
    2) a timer which onTick gets all the updated records and sends them as a dataset

webservice
    3) recieves dataset and updates webservice database (W_BACKOFFICE) based on whether records have been updated/inserted via dataAdapter.Update(dataset)

I have got numbers 1) and 2) to work (just about!) however when the webservice receives the dataset it only works if records have been updated. If records have been inserted it throws an exception:

System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapException: Server was unable to process request. ---> System.Data.DBConcurrencyException: Concurrency violation: the UpdateCommand affected 0 of the expected 1 records.

I am wanting to learn so any help would be really appreciated.  The method in the webservice is pasted below:

[WebMethod]
        public void SendData(DataSet ds)
        {
            SqlConnection cn_web = new SqlConnection("user id=sa;" +
                                           "password=xxx;server=xxx;" +
                                           "Trusted_Connection=yes;" +
                                           "database=W_BACKOFFICE;" +
                                           "connection timeout=30");
            // opening connection
            cn_web.Open();

// ------------------------------  Create the SelectCommand. ---------------------------------- 
            SqlCommand cmd;
            SqlDataAdapter dataAdapter = new SqlDataAdapter();

//This is getting the current data from the webservice database W_BACKOFFICE just in case anyone has modified since....
            cmd = new SqlCommand("select * from tblCustomer", cn_web);
            dataAdapter.SelectCommand = cmd;