none
How to send Mimemessage to Exchange server ? (C#) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I got an url-safe base64 encoded  email message( including headers and body) retrieved from gmail. I need to send this message directly to exchange server without specifying To,From,Subject and body as my message contains it all together. Is there a way to create such message from this gmail message ? I am new to exchange. please let me know any possible solutions. I want to do something similar to..

SendMimeMessage(myGmailMessage);

best regards,

Tuesday, October 14, 2014 5:48 PM

All replies

• Try this:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/office/dn672319(v=exchg.150).aspx#sectionSection2

private static void UploadMIMEEmail(ExchangeService service)
    {
        EmailMessage email = new EmailMessage(service);

string emlFileName = @"C:\import\email.eml";

using (FileStream fs = new FileStream(emlFileName, FileMode.Open, FileAccess.Read))
        {
            byte[] bytes = new byte[fs.Length];
            int numBytesToRead = (int)fs.Length;
            int numBytesRead = 0;

while (numBytesToRead > 0)
            {
                int n = fs.Read(bytes, numBytesRead, numBytesToRead);

if (n == 0)
                    break;

numBytesRead += n;
                numBytesToRead -= n;
            }

// Set the contents of the .eml file to the MimeContent property.
            email.MimeContent = new MimeContent("UTF-8", bytes);
        }

// Indicate that this email is not a draft. Otherwise, the email will appear as a 
        // draft to clients.
        ExtendedPropertyDefinition PR_MESSAGE_FLAGS_msgflag_read = new ExtendedPropertyDefinition(3591, MapiPropertyType.Integer);
        email.SetExtendedProperty(PR_MESSAGE_FLAGS_msgflag_read, 1);

// This results in a CreateItem call to EWS. The email will be saved in the Inbox folder.
        email.Save(WellKnownFolderName.Inbox);
    }

Where email.eml is your gmail message.

Michael | Microsoft Exchange Developer Content