none
Testing / Debugging CLR UDFs and Stored Procedures RRS feed

• Question

• I know that this question in unusually broad but I am just getting started writing CLR code for SQL Server.  One of the challenges that I am having is that I can not execute code without first signing it with a key.  Perhaps I am missing something, but the only way I have been able to create a key is through tools like makecert, signtool, etc.  This is not going to be a very efficient way to develop.  Am I missing something?  Is there an easier way to accomplish this without changing from strict security?  This seems incredibly awkward.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Saturday, June 29, 2019 4:35 PM

All replies

• You can sign the assembly with sn, and then you can create an asymmetric key from the assembly with CREATE ASSEMBLY in T-SQL. But this requires that SQL Server can see the assembly.

An alternative is to compute a SHA_512 hash and enter this hash with sp_add_trusted_assembly. This is not too tricky to automate, and it does not require SQL Server to have access to the assembly DLL.

Solomon Rutzky has written quite a bit on how to automate the handling of assemblies, see https://sqlquantumleap.com/articles/ for a list. He seems not to like trusted assemblies, though. I disagree with him on that point.

Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, esquel@sommarskog.se

Saturday, June 29, 2019 8:10 PM
  • I agree with Erland below; if you want to be "secure" in your dev environment, but still not have to jump through too many hoops - go with white-listed assemblies (if you are on SQL 2017 or later).

http://www.nielsberglund.com | @nielsberglund

Monday, July 1, 2019 3:07 AM
  • ... This is not going to be a very efficient way to develop.  Am I missing something?  Is there an easier way to accomplish this without changing from strict security?  This seems incredibly awkward.