none
Msagl/Glee Asp.net Tutorial RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hi guys, my name is Luca Del Tongo and i'm an italian computer science student. This post come from a personal project where i have extensively used glee library to create some graph containing automata. So now i will guide you on how to use msglee to provide images using asp.net code.

There are a couple of approaches to serve dynamic server side generated images using asp.net. In this post i will discuss the use of an httphandler to accomplish our task.

So suppose we want to show on our standard .aspx page an image generated using msglee combined with our httphandler.

In our .aspx code we can declare an asp.net image control setting its imageUrl property to the handler we are going to definre

//default.aspx

<asp:Image ID="ImageParseTree" ImageUrl="~/GleeGraphHandler.ashx" runat="server"/>

Now we will create an httphandler, let's call it GleeGraphHandler.ashx

//GleeGraphHandler.ashx

public

class GleeGraphHandler : IHttpHandler {

public void ProcessRequest (HttpContext context) {

Microsoft.Glee.Drawing.

Graph graph = new Microsoft.Glee.Drawing.Graph("customGraph");

graph.AddEdge(

"0", "1");

graph.AddEdge(

"1", "3");

Microsoft.Glee.GraphViewerGdi.

GraphRenderer renderer = new Microsoft.Glee.GraphViewerGdi.GraphRenderer(graph);

renderer.CalculateLayout();

System.Drawing.

Bitmap img = new System.Drawing.Bitmap((int)graph.Width, (int)graph.Height , System.Drawing.Imaging.PixelFormat.Format32bppPArgb);

renderer.Render(img);

//Set Image codec of JPEG type, the index of JPEG codec is "1"

System.Drawing.Imaging.

ImageCodecInfo codec = System.Drawing.Imaging.ImageCodecInfo.GetImageEncoders()[1];

//Set the parameters for defining the quality of the image to improve rendering phase... here it is set to 100%

System.Drawing.Imaging.

EncoderParameters eParams = new System.Drawing.Imaging.EncoderParameters(1);

eParams.Param[0] =