none
UserControl/HostedControl Errors (newbee to CCF) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

Firstly, I am totally new to MS CCF. I went on a 2 day training course just before Christmas last year - so its all new to me.

My application started its life as a .NET user control, which I changed as shown in the MS CCF course notes and Developer Documentation to be a HostedControl.

The control is simple, you input an Account ID, click Search, and it calls a couple of SQL stored procedures and populates databound fields and a DataViewGrid. This works fine when using the control in a simple win form app which references the control.

Now comes the bit where I am having difficulties. I should mention I am using a pre-built (i.e. not by me) CCF environment. I have used the Admin Console on our CCFDC to create an instance of my hosted application. I have performed the Application Mappings configuration too. (Is there anything else I should do?)

When I start an Agent Desktop, as a valid Agent user on a client machine, I get the following error :-

"Error Hosted Application "Demo App" could not be created. Contact the CCF administrator.
    Could not load type "CCFDemoApp" from assembly 'CCFDemoApp', Version:1.0.0.0, Culture=neutal, PublicKeyToken=null'.

I'm sure there is a simple solution, but being a novice in this area, I just can't see where I am going wrong.

Thanks for your help.

Alan

Tuesday, January 30, 2007 5:27 PM

Answers

• Hi Matt,

Thanks for the response.

I eventually sorted the problem. The problems that I was experiencing were down to a few things....

1) The namespace in my control was just a simple namespace, e.g. MyNamespace. But a colleague suggested changing the namespace to something like: Microsoft.Ccf.<mynamespace>

2) Ensure my control was defined as:

public class  <mycontrolclassname> : Microsoft.Ccf.Csr.HostedControl

Which was the case even during the errors.

3) App initialisation in Admin Console: