create a table from multiples tables with multiples KEY id RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm rather new at programming vba and I would appreciate your help with this task. I've created a complexe query that gets information from multiple tables in an ODBC database.  The query creates a new table in a separate database for me to be able to work with.  From the ODBC query, I get multiple rows for the same identifier.  I managed to create a series of queries that will find the first row and copy into a cumulative table, and then other queries that will append the records with the information required from the other rows.

My problem is that the duplication of the records needs to be based on 2 fields rather than 1, and I just dont know how to do that.  I've used the wizard to create a non-duplicate query where the 2 tables are linked by AccessNumber, but I need the duplication to be based on BlockNumber and StainID.  In my cumulative table BlockNumber and StainID are the KEYS, so I can have the same block many times with different stainIDs.  There are no KEY in my makeup Table since it is recreated each time I run de createTableQuery.   The way it is currently set up, it will allow me to insert "duplicate" new records based on AccessNumber with different StainID only if they are added at the same time.  So if one day I add the record  ABC (blockID) with stainID (12), then tomorrow I won't be able to add ABC(blockID), StainID(14).  Is there a way I can do that?

I'm using MS Access 2003, and like i mentioned at the beginning, I'm rather new at programming VBA and SQL.

Thank you for any help you may bring me.

ChantalBG
    Tuesday, May 3, 2011 8:35 PM

Answers

• Rather than using a 'make table' query each time, first create an empty table with the relevant columns and then set its composite primary key to the two columns.  Then, instead of executing the 'make table' query, first delete all rows from the makeup table, e.g.

DELETE *
    FROM [MakeUpTable];