dialogs appearing behind the main window RRS feed

• Question

• hey guys,

i have a simple problem with  my MFC app. the messagebox's and color dialod's r appearing behind the main window.

maybe is it because i have directx rendering a static text control in the main window so it always stays in focus or soemthing i dont know?

here is my code for displaying for displaying a color dialog:

CColorDialog cd = CColorDialog(0, CC_ANYCOLOR);
    cd.DoModal();

when i press the alt button the color dialog appears.

is there some special setting of some sort i have to do to get the dialogs to appear infront of the window? im quite new to mfc so sorry for my newbie questions.

thx in advanced
    Friday, February 24, 2006 7:53 PM

Answers

• Maybe the topmost style is being applied to the window containing the 3-d rendering.  You can use Spy++ to find ths out.

Brian

Monday, February 27, 2006 2:21 PM
  • Okay.  Try using Spy++ to determine how the window style of the parent of CColorDialog is affected by whether the static control is 3-d rendered (record Spy++ information with the 3-d-ness enabled, and then without).  Win32 can be weird and sometimes unforgiving when it comes with window styles.

Use make sure that you're really pointing Spy++ to the parent of the dialog.  (Spy++ will tell you the parent of the CColorDialog window, if you point Spy++ to that dialog).

Monday, February 27, 2006 6:49 PM

All replies

• Is your main form (form1) set to

this->TopMost = true;

This will make the main form stay on top by defult.

Saturday, February 25, 2006 6:28 PM
  • im not using .NET. this isnt form application.

and the dialog for main application isnt my problem. my problem is in the messageboxes and colordialogs that appear behind my main window (dialog).

Saturday, February 25, 2006 6:37 PM
  • A modal dialog is always on top of its parent window. CColorDialog takes the parent window as the third (optional) argument.