none
Excel UserForm Text Boxes RRS feed

• Question

• I am relatively new at using VBA code. I have created a userform that is meant to treated as figure to display the results from a worksheet. I have been able to write coding that displays the results in the userform text box but if I change the results on the worksheet and then display the userform again the value in the textbox does not update unless I manually click in the textbox and hit enter. How do I get the text box in the userform when information in the sheet changes?
    Monday, December 24, 2018 9:25 PM

All replies

• If you set the ControlSource Property of the TextBox to a cell on the worksheet then when the worksheet cell is changed then the TextBox will change also and vice versa if you change the value in the TextBox then the value on the worksheet will change.

To set the TextBox properties, in Design Mode right click the TextBox and select Properties. Enter the worksheet name and cell address in the ControlSource property.

Use syntax similar to the following example to link the worksheet name and cell address. If a cell address is entered without the worksheet name then the control links to the cell address of the worksheet that is active at the time of showing the Userform so best to include the worksheet name. Note the exclamation mark between the worksheet name and the cell address.

Sheet1!A5

Regards, OssieMac

Thursday, December 27, 2018 7:10 AM
  • This answer would work if the text box was in an actual worksheet. The text box is in a picture that is being imported through visual basic coding. Thus, when the user clicks on a specific command button a pop up window appears showing the figure with built in text boxes. The text boxes are populated from information that is in a worksheet.
    Wednesday, January 30, 2019 5:10 PM