how to access a control from an object method? RRS feed

• Question

• User396832 posted

I'm about to badly embarrass my self here - being a complete newb to c# (& OO) and Xamarin.Forms (trying to learn too much in one go, I know) I'm trying to create a stack-layout of options that will contain e.g. labels and buttons in which I want to control the Text property of the buttons when any of them are clicked.

I previously tried using databinding/itemsource on the stacklayout but got even more lost and have not been able to find examples I could make very much sense of - the documentation looks like it should be really simple, alas :-(

In the code listed below I can access both the mapOptsCntrl object and its methods as well as the stack layout control via its x:Name from the event handler methods of buttons in the XAML. But if I want to change things based on programmatically created button having been clicked I'm kinda lost.

I hope this is not too much code to post here: ` using System; using System.Collections.Generic; using System.Linq; using Xamarin.Forms;

namespace AgentApp { public partial class zDevMapOptions_list : ContentPage {

public class LocOption : Object
        {
            public string AddressLine { get; set; }
            public string State { get; set; }
        }

public class MapOptsCntrl : Object
        {
            public Dictionary<string, LocOption> ListOptsContainer = new Dictionary<string, LocOption>();

public void Create(int number)
            {
                for (int i = 0; i < number; i++)
                {
                    string key = i.ToString();
                    LocOption LocOption = new LocOption { AddressLine = "Addy str " + key, State = "Show", };
                    ListOptsContainer.Add(key, LocOption);
                }
            }
            public List<StackLayout> Draw()
            {
                int optsCount = ListOptsContainer.Count();