none
Using Visual Basic to create charts with Dynamic Ranges RRS feed

• Question

• I have a worksheet that has data where every two columns is that data for a specific category (i.e., Column A & B, would be Cateogry 1, etc.), and the number of rows in a category will vary.  I need to create Pie Charts for each category.  Everything works find until I run across a category that only has 1 row of data.  I thought I had a solution that would work (see code below), but it still charts multiple rows (not every single row like it was previously) but not just the one.  It is probably something simple, but I am still new to VB and have now spent half the day trying to find what I'm doing wrong.  Here's the Code I'm trying to use, I have a routine created for each category, so once I find the solution for this one, I will be able to apply it across all of the categories.  I just need to get this one working...

Dim myR As Long
        myR = Cells(Rows.Count, 2).End(xlUp).Row

Range("A3:B3" & myR).Select

Charts.Add

Thank you so much for you assistance.  A very frustrated flower. :)

FYI - I did review the links it suggested for questions similar to mine, but it did not help.

Lisa
    Monday, December 5, 2011 11:45 PM

Answers

• Dim myR As Long
    Range("A3:B" & myR).Select
    Charts.Add

should work, as long as the sheet with the data is active - it worked for all cases in my testing.

Sorry for the delay - the forums have been acting up today.

HTH, Bernie
    Thursday, December 8, 2011 1:43 AM
  • Great - can you mark my reply as the answer so that everybody knows not to worry about this thread anymore?

And Merry Christmas to you, too.

Bernie
    Thursday, December 8, 2011 5:15 PM

All replies

• Try changing

Range("A3:B3" & myR).Select

to

BUT -  what you really should do is not select, but use objects to make looping easier: this will add a chart for every two columns of data on worksheet "Sheet1"

Sub test()
    Dim myChart As Chart
    Dim i As Integer