Interface WCF with Windows Service? RRS feed

• Question

• I am completely new to WCF and was hoping that someone could review my concept and tell me if it is viable.

I intend to create a Windows Service that gathers and holds various bits of data in some classes. I would like to have a some web clients make a request for the data, assuming it would be through WCF. WCF “asks” the Windows Service for the data and the Windows Service returns it back in the form of a structure. WCF will then run it through a JSON Serializer and onto the clients. I hope I’m making some sense. Does this sound like a viable approach? If so I’m a bit fuzzy on how to interface the Windows Service with the WCF service.

Thanks!

Tuesday, May 10, 2011 7:46 PM

Answers

• You can use any host, such as IIS. The problem with IIS is by default, the application pool will be recycled once a while. But in most cases, the impaction is a minimum. The next time a client request the service, the service needs to start again, which may be a bit slower, and all in memory data (such as in memory cache and session) are lost. But in most cases they're acceptable. Windows Service doesn't support recycling and thus doesn't have the problem, but when the service is hosted in Windows Service, you can't use ASP.NET features. You can also configure IIS to disable application pool recycling if you like.
    Lante, shanaolanxing This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Windows Azure Technical Forum Support Team Blog
    • Marked as answer by Peak Creek Tuesday, May 17, 2011 1:14 AM
    Friday, May 13, 2011 1:23 AM

All replies

• If you are writing the whole thing from the scratch why you need WCF service to communicate with Windows service. 

You can write a WCF service and host it as a windows service. 

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb332338.aspx