Category and DisplayName property attributes RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am using VS2010 and EF4 for a new WinForms project I am working on. This is my first attempt at EF4 and come from many years of SubSonic.

I am struggling to figure out how to set the Category and DisplayName attributes for the EF4 generated properties of my tables. I have come across many possible solutions and the only one that works is: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/ko-KR/adodotnetentityframework/thread/617ebfca-0f68-4b90-83fd-0da758fadbd0
    This is however such a clunky solution and not neat and clean at all.

I also found posts related to creating a Metadata class and hooking that to the partial class of the table names. This did not work for me at all.
    A simple sample of what I am trying to do...

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Text;
    using System.ComponentModel;
    using System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations;

namespace SL.PICData.EF
    {
     [MetadataType(typeof(Incident.IncidentMetaData))]
     public partial class Incident
     {
      internal sealed class IncidentMetaData
      {
       [DisplayName("Inc No")]
       public int IncidentsID { get; set; }
      }
     }
    }
    When I attach an instance of this class to a PropertyGrid I still get IncidentsID labeled as IncidentsID and not "Inc No" as I want.

I am also going to need to add some custom editors to properties that display in the PropertyGrid, but if I cannot even get Category and DisplayName working I am fearing I won't get my custom editors working either.