none
Data retrieval for logged in Username only? RRS feed

• Question

• Like many here, I am a newbie...regarding this question, while this has to be one of the easiest things to do-I cannot find direction anywhere.  There is one reference to it through the VWD for Dummies site by MSDN that directs you to use the configuration wizard by setting up a SELECT, WHERE SQL statement designating the 'UserName' to be pulled from the PROFILE with the property of  'UserName'.  Seems simple enough, just doesn't work.  I have tried it on the table I have added to the asp.mdf as well as pre-existing tables from the profile.  The best I can achieve is a default value that doesn't change on Login when displayed through my gridview control.  Works great if I want to show every Username's data but that defeats the purpose.  I am trying to present read-only data to a logged in user. Please help!

Sunday, August 26, 2007 5:58 PM

All replies

• One approach that I discuss in my book is to limit access to data via specific SQL Server (not SSPI) credentials. If you're working with an ASP page, it's possible to pickup the Windows user credentials, but getting Windows, the browser and the remote database to register, pass through and manage these can be complex. An easier approach is to use SQL Server credentials for the application. These permit the application to gain access to the database but only when using the application. The security configuration on the database is programmed to grant access the specific application credentials, but only to specific stored procedures and views--never the base tables. Once connected you can run a query that passes the user credentials as a parameter, validates them and grants access on functionality in the application based on the rights this specific user needs.

"Hitchhiker's Guide to Visual Studio and SQL Server (7th Edition)"

hth

Sunday, August 26, 2007 6:35 PM