scalability implies using web services? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone

I am an analyst- programmer here in Spain(I don't know what is the difference with a programmer, i usually do the same things) I am studying a lot about architecture right now because i am in a very big project in the company that recently has hire me, perhaps the biggest project of Spain. Because i am a computer engineer I like the big vision, not the fight with the vb6, this just pay my bills.

We use a lot of com+ components, put all of them in all the machines of the farm and release it. Well, we have disastrous consequences because we can't accept all the expected users.

Here we don't use SOA architectures with business buses and all that things. We use vb6 and COM 1.1.

I think that we have a problem because our solutions aren't scalable, and we have a very primitive architecture of the different modules because of that our solutions aren't scalable. I think that buy another Xeon and put all com+ components of all modules of the project can't be considered scalability.

My question is: for a very very big project: scalability implies SOA and WS?

Hope the question is considered interesting and produces a debate

Tuesday, March 7, 2006 5:52 PM

All replies

•  creaturita wrote:

My question is: for a very very big project: scalability implies SOA and WS?

No it does not - there have been scalable systems before SOA was coined or WS invented - As for SOA, If you don't pay attention to the way you build each service they can still unscalable. Nevertheless, The fact that a proper partitioning to services will increase loose coupling can help you achieve better performance by, for example, letting you deploy each service on its own box .