If I learn Expression, can I do this? RRS feed

• Question

• The biggest investment that any of us will make is obviously in the time spent on learning curve to become proficient in any one web design software.  I am at the very start of that learning curve in fact I am a complete and total newbie to the world of web design.  I am willing to invest whatever time is necessary to become proficient but the most important thing is that I end up with a web site that will do what I want it to do in the end.  Again being a newbie I lack even the proper terminology to correctly describe what I am looking for, so asking for your patience, allow me to describe what I need the website to do, and then ask for your assistance as to whether Expression Web will take me there and whether it is the right path to invest in over the long term – I will be happy to endure whatever short term learning curve pain.

• My site will be a commercial site where customers will be able to choose criteria, conduct a search of my database (tbd) and end up with a report in tabular form.

• They should be able to sort the table by clicking on any column heading.

• They should be able to assign a preference to any row, and sort according to that preference.

• They should be able to highlight any cell in the table in any one of three different colors.

• Customers will need to sign up for an account with credit card / Paypal transaction

• Before signing up for an account I would like to show my customers how many options fit their search criteria.

I’d be grateful to anyone kind enough to point me in the right direction.

Sunday, June 13, 2010 10:51 PM

Answers

• Sure EW can do what you want to do.  Even Notepad will do what you want.  The nature of the web, and web technologies, is that all files are just plain text files with different information/instructions with different file extensions.