Which book is good for beginner Universal Apps

General discussion

• I have to develop Windows 8 Store Apps for PC and mobile (platform is Windows). I am new to Windows 8 Store App development and new to Windows 8 Mobile. I know that in Microsoft Virtual Academy have tutorial on Universal Apps.

Could you please recommend a good book for beginner in Universal Apps ? Thank you for your time and advise

I try to search in internet but it only suggest book for either Windows 8 Store App PC or Windows 8 Store App Mobile. I cannot find for Universal Apps

Note: I know C# language. I have experience in WPF and Windows Form development. I have a little bit experience in Xamarin.Android    I live in Malaysia

Sunday, September 14, 2014 5:23 AM

All replies

• Since Universal Apps are a pretty new thing there aren't so many books (maybe not a single one) out there yet. You should be able to get a lot of information online though. Here two links that should help you get started:

Building universal Windows apps for all Windows devices: https://dev.windows.com/en-us/develop/building-universal-Windows-apps
    Build universal Windows apps that target Windows and Windows Phone: http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/windows/apps/dn609832#Started

Sunday, September 14, 2014 9:15 AM
  • Hi etylatam,

Here is excellent tutorials in universal app development. 

Sunday, September 14, 2014 9:24 AM
  • On a quick search I don't see any physical books on Universal app development in XAML already published, although there are a few on pre-order. The basics are essentially the same as for Windows Store apps for Windows 8.1 so getting a book on Windows Store app development should serve you well.
    Sunday, September 14, 2014 2:56 PM
    Owner