locked
Upgrade from LRS to ZRS RRS feed

  • Question

  • Can i upgrade my storage account from beeing LRS to ZRS without loosing any data currently stored within? That is, if i change the plan from L1 to G1, do i need to backup my current files and put them back in storage after i changed the plan ?

    WM_THX
    -thomas woelfer


    http://www.die.de/blog

    Sunday, December 7, 2014 12:17 PM

Answers

  • Hi,

    Please have a look at this article: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/azure/dn727290.aspx, here is the useful information: You can change how your data is replicated after your storage account has been created, but note that you may incur an additional one-time data transfer cost if you switch from LRS to GRS or RA-GRS. If you choose GRS when you create your account, then you cannot subsequently switch to any other type of replication, or vice versa. so we can change the storage Replication without backing up.

    Best Regards,

    Jambor


    We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

    Monday, December 8, 2014 2:30 AM

All replies

  • Hi Thomas,

    Please be advised that once you have created your storage account and selected zone-redundant replication (or any other type of replication), you cannot convert it to use to any other type of replication, or vice versa.

    You could refer the following link for details about ZRS.

    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/windowsazurestorage/archive/2014/08/01/introducing-zone-redundant-storage.aspx

    Regards,
    Malar.

    Sunday, December 7, 2014 12:35 PM
  • Malar,

    thank you, however, i think my initial question wasn't correct. What i wanted to know was:

    Can i change my account from LRS to GRS (Not ZRS) without backing up first and uploading after the change ?

    (IOW: I don't want to go to ZRS but to GRS)

    WM_THX
    -thomas woelfer


    http://www.die.de/blog

    Sunday, December 7, 2014 1:02 PM
  • Hi,

    Please have a look at this article: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/azure/dn727290.aspx, here is the useful information: You can change how your data is replicated after your storage account has been created, but note that you may incur an additional one-time data transfer cost if you switch from LRS to GRS or RA-GRS. If you choose GRS when you create your account, then you cannot subsequently switch to any other type of replication, or vice versa. so we can change the storage Replication without backing up.

    Best Regards,

    Jambor


    We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

    Monday, December 8, 2014 2:30 AM