none
SharePoint - in cloud - Workflows don't start automatically RRS feed

• Question

• I have been developing SharePoint workflows in SP 2010 for the last 6 years, using SharePoint Designer running on a local server.  When we upgraded to SharePoint 2013 we also moved to the cloud.  Any new 2013 workflows I write, even though I check the box to "Start Workflow automatically when an item is created", simply do not start automatically.  I can run them manually, and they work fine, but can't seem to run automatically no matter what I do.  

Solutions have included a Site Setting to allow “Workflows can use app permissions” , but activating this has not changed anything.  Numerous (dozens, actually) sites have suggested a PowerShell command on the server to fix the problem, but the problem is that we don't have a server any more - we run SharePoint in the cloud (in other words, at Microsoft).  I can't find any information on how to make the workflows run as something other than the "system account", and besides, they show MY account when I run them manually.

I need to get certain workflows that run annually to run automatically when a list item is created, but it is looking more and more like this simply can't be done.  Is there anything I can do, given that this is the CLOUD version?  Or, am I out of luck?  Please help, as I'm up against deadlines.

Tuesday, January 10, 2017 10:34 PM

Answers

All replies

• Here you go, it wont run automatically for admin.

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/office/en-US/1478cc80-7e76-4353-ac55-1d60cb3700d6/automatic-workflow-dont-start?forum=sharepointcustomizationlegacy

if the above doesn't help you

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/office/en-US/f9ccc979-396b-4d9b-8d84-d65619c0da69/sharepoint-workflows-are-not-starting-automatically?forum=sharepointadminprevious