WorkLog, Current Date return Day of Week from related Entity RRS feed

• Question

• I was wondering if someone could help me with the following.  I have two entities WorkLog with a many to 1 relationship with Week.

The worklog entity contains a date field equal to the date and time of when the log is created.

The week entity contains three fields, Number, Week Start and Week End.

I am wanting to add a week field to the worklog entity and have it automatically set based on the worklog.date being between a value in the week entity which looks like the following.

Is this best handled by a preprocess query?  I'm new to programming and lightswitch, any help is appreciated!

Friday, November 20, 2015 4:26 PM

Answers

• Hello

How are the two tables currently related? I can see that you have the "Week" entity within your table but what are the fields that are being linked?

Personally I would put the code into your _Inserting method for when you are creating a WorkLog record. Within that I would do a select on the Week table and then insert the Week number into your new field.....a bit like this.

partial void WorkLog_Inserting(WorkLog entity)
    {
    	var myInt = (from Weeks item in this.WeeksSet where entity.Date >= item.WeekStart && entity.Date <= item.WeekEnd select item.Number);

entity.YOUR_NEW_FIELD = myInt;
    }

This would then just add the value to your new field every time you created a record.

If you found this post helpful, please mark it as helpful. If by some chance I answered the question, please mark the question as answered. That way you will help more people like me :)

• Proposed as answer by Otis Ranger Tuesday, November 24, 2015 10:13 AM
    • Marked as answer by Angie Xu Tuesday, December 8, 2015 3:32 PM
    Monday, November 23, 2015 3:09 PM

All replies

• Hi Eric J Cross,