none
Abandoning WordPress for Expression by a former FrontPage user RRS feed

• Question

• Years ago, I did some simple sites in FrontPage (with a tiny bit of html tweaking). 

I'm a high-level language programmer.

Last year I hired a consultant to design (or buy a template) and implement a WordPress site. There are no bells and whistles: just a nice standard background, menu bar, and sidebar. There are only about six pages on the whole site, but it's for a professional product.

I should have suspected that WP was not for me when we encountered difficulty in finding a simple, plain, non-in-your-face template.  I don't need a blog.

Frankly, WP frustrates the ____ out me. It does too much hand holding, thwarts me from doing simple things, and is currently having trouble displaying some WYSIWIG previews while I'm editing. 

I don't know anything about CSS, except it's apparently a template that goes across pages, saving me time, and assuring consistency.  I don't need any scripting/php/java, fancy pop-ups, or anything like that.  I'm happy using FTP rather than depending on a monolithic, opaque tool that does everything for me ... poorly.

I'm fed up and thinking of going back to MS products for this.  I'd like the feedback from this group.  Is Expression a tool that will allow a technical guy like me to easily create pages, add links, insert photos, etc.? 

Do I sound like an old fashioned web designer who just can't make the jump to WP, or is my situation somewhat common.

I need suggestions on where to find a consultant who can set up a template that matches my current one.

TIA

Tom
    Tuesday, September 21, 2010 11:50 PM

All replies