Windows 8 install hangs at "Expanding files...76%"

Question

• I'm trying to install a dual boot of Windows 7 & 8 on a machine, and the Windows 8 installation (on a fresh partition) never gets past 76% of expanding files.  I checked my download's sha1 hash, and it's valid, so I assume the install disc is not the problem.  I retried a few times, and that's as far as it gets.  Eventually it gives up and says an error message and backs out of the installation.  

Is anyone else seeing this?  Any ideas on how to overcome this?  I have an MSDN subscription, so I think I might try one of their ISOs next.  I assume they're not the same build.

Thanks!

Friday, October 7, 2011 2:31 PM

All replies

• Todd Sjolander,

I am sorry to hear about your issue.  I would recommend you downloading an ISO from the following site, http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/apps/br229516, and trying again like you wanted to do.

Let me know how that works.

Thanks,

Chris
    Friday, October 7, 2011 3:07 PM
  • Todd Sjolander,

What is error message?  Have you tried different ISOs files or installing using USB stick?

Friday, October 7, 2011 3:50 PM
    Answerer
  • That's the one I used, specifically the x64 build without the developer tools.
    Friday, October 7, 2011 4:09 PM
  • Todd Sjolander,

What kind of computer you have?  You might want to try 32 bit version and see if you still having same problem.

Friday, October 7, 2011 4:19 PM
    Answerer
  • I burned two discs.  For my first disc, it failed earlier in the process (I tried 2 or 3 times), saying that it was missing required drivers.  I hadn't checked the sha1 hash, and I thinkit may have been a corrupted download.  The second disc was a re-download of the same ISO, but I checked the hash.  It got further into the process, sticking at 76% expanding.  Are these the same builds as the ones in the MSDN subscription downloads?