HELP! Moving Through 2D Image Sets...

Question

• I have a series of bitmaps (~300-500) that represent slices through a patient's chest taken with a cat scan (CT) machine at a hospital (typically stored in a DICOM file format). Physicians use special workstation computers from healthcare vendors that allow them to scroll through these image sets and re-orient the visible plane through this image set and then scroll through it again, with the new orientation.

I already have a basic viewer that allows the user to scroll through the image set, displaying each image as it was captured natively. however, I need to be able to provide this same basic capability of allowing the user to re-orient the visible plane within a Windows 8 app, running on a Surface tablet.

I have never used DirectX before and am not a mathematician.

can someone please help me understand how to approach this problem. will I need to use a 3D API for this? I am hoping that I can just use the basic Win RT APIs available to Windows 8 apps, but will jump into a deeper API if necessary (i.e. DirectX). I have a hunch that what is involved is some sort of matrix transformation through the 3D matrix represented by the 2D images merged together. is this correct?

any assistance regarding the approach to this problem, the type of math involved, and especially any sample code or APIs that will assist in this process is greatly appreciated. thank you in advance!

Monday, February 25, 2013 11:24 PM

Answers

• If I'm understanding what you are looking for here (I'm not positive - a sketch or screenshot may help) then you would use a 3D API, but likely fairly simply. You could display your image slices on a series of rectangles and then move the camera around as desired.

I'd start with the Direct3D tutorial sample to get a feel for how to set up objects and the camera and then either experiment or look at other samples to see what looks relevant.

--Rob

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 7:01 PM
    Owner