none
Parallel execution of Subscribe delegate?

Question

• Hi everyone,

I'm very new to Rx, and I'm probably overlooking something obvious.  I'm trying to take an IEnumerable, convert it to an IObservable, and attach a handler to be run in parallel for that IEnumerable.  The reason I'd like to use Rx instead of just going with the normal Parallel.ForEach approach is that the IEnumerable will continually have new items placed in it, but that's further down the line.  For now, I'd be happy with getting the following code to actually execute in parallel.  Any suggestions?

public static class Program
    	{
    		public static void Main(string[] args)
    		{
    			Enumerable.Range(0, 100)
    				.AsParallel()
    				.ToObservable(Scheduler.ThreadPool)
    				.Subscribe(i => DoWork(i));

Console.ReadKey();
    		}

private static void DoWork(int i)
    		{
    			Console.WriteLine("Executing for {0}...", i);

Thread.Sleep(TimeSpan.FromSeconds(1));
    		}
    	}

Friday, July 1, 2011 9:47 PM

All replies

• Hi Matt,

PLINQ is actually more appropriate than Rx for parallelization of this kind; i.e., starting with an IEnumerable<T> and needing to process its elements as fast as possible with regards to the number of threads and processors available, and perhaps other system resources, and choosing a partitioning scheme that fits well with the kind of data being enumerated.  Rx doesn't take these things into consideration (AFAIK).

> The reason I'd like to use Rx instead of just going with the normal Parallel.ForEach approach is that the IEnumerable will
    > continually have new items placed in it.

That's alright, PLINQ can handle it just fine.  If you use an iterator block, then I think it'll use chunk partitioning.

static void Main(string[] args)
    {
    	foreach (var value in MyRange().AsParallel())
    	{
    		DoWork(value);
    	}
    }

private IEnumerable<long> MyRange()
    {
    	while (true)
    	{
    		yield return DateTime.Now.TimeOfDay.Ticks;