Multilingual Web Forms Application: Problem with Controls texts RRS feed

• Question

• User223078540 posted

I want the users of my web forms application to select the Site language from a DropDownList control.

I am offering two languages: English and Spanish.

I used VS 2010 Web Forms Application template, so I have a Master Page (Site.Master) and two pages (Default.aspx and About.aspx).

In the Session section of the global asax file I created a variable strLanguage.

In SiteMaster I added the DropDownList with 3 Items: "", "English" and "Español".

In the selected index changed event I added the following code:

If ddlLanguage.SelectedValue <> "" Then
                Session("strLanguage") = ddlLanguage.SelectedValue
                Response.Redirect(Request.Url.LocalPath)
            End If

In my "default" and "about" pages I added code to:

Imports System.Threading
    Imports System.Globalization

And, in the load event, added the code

Select Case Session("strLanguage")
                Case "English"
                    Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentCulture = CultureInfo.CreateSpecificCulture("en")
                    Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentUICulture = CultureInfo.CreateSpecificCulture("en")
                Case "Español"
                    Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentCulture = CultureInfo.CreateSpecificCulture("es")
                    Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentUICulture = CultureInfo.CreateSpecificCulture("es")
            End Select

I created two resource files:
     Strings.resx (English strings)
     Strings.es.resx

If I add text in the form

<%= Resources.Strings.txtLogin%>

It works ok. The string appears in the DropDownList selected language

But, If I try to use a label control and write the following code

<asp:Label ID="Label1" runat="server" Text="<%$ Resources:Strings, txtCL %>"> </asp:Label>

The string is shown always in English.

I checked the string key and it is correct: txtCL.