none
Calling C# DLL from C++ Using LoadLibrary RRS feed

• Question

• I know this question has been asked but I can't seem to find a clear cut answer to what the solution is. Any input would be appreciated.

I am making a 'compatibility dll'. What it's purpose is: It will be loaded by numerous third party applications and perform specialized intermediary functions. I do not have any control, access over, or influence on the application loading my dll.

What I do know is: The DLL will be loaded using LoadLibrary, GetProcAddress, and FreeLibrary.

I'm mainly a C# programmer. I was wondering if I could write a C# DLL that could be called using LoadLibrary. I'm slowly seeing that it may not be able to. I don't have a problem doing work in VC++ but I don't know if the managed dll can be called using loadlibrary.

I read everywhere that I can use COM but since I can not touch the host loading the DLL I don't think that's possible.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to accomplish this?
    Also does anyone know how to accomplish this via C#?

Anything that can support my endeavor is appreciated. If anything -- thanks for reading this far

BlnDef

Monday, April 19, 2010 6:35 PM

Answers

• The clear cut answer is : It can't be done in C#.

The not so clear cut answer is : write a wrapper in C/C++ that exports the function and calls your C# code in the background. from C/C++ you could just call your code using com interop.

Monday, April 19, 2010 7:38 PM

All replies

• The clear cut answer is : It can't be done in C#.

The not so clear cut answer is : write a wrapper in C/C++ that exports the function and calls your C# code in the background. from C/C++ you could just call your code using com interop.

Monday, April 19, 2010 7:38 PM
  • Ok, I had thought this was the case. I just wanted to be sure.

Now a quick followup: