Using blend to change background of textbox focused and unfocused states... RRS feed

• Question

• I'm relatively new to silverlight/wpf and blend.  On WP7, I'm trying to make the background of a focused textbox to remain transparent rather than the white color it typically changes to.  I've tried retemplating the textbox using blend then changing the EnabledBorder's focused state.  However, whenever I do that, it changes the unfocused state too.  That's not what I want. 

What am I missing?

Tuesday, July 19, 2011 6:49 AM

Answers

• Ah, yes.  Good to know that I was at least TRYING to use Blend correctly.  :)  After expanding the <VisualState x:Name="Unfocused"> and setting the appropriate border and backgrouind colors, everything is working as I'd like. 

Thank you!

Jim
    • Marked as answer by Greazer Tuesday, July 19, 2011 4:46 PM
    Tuesday, July 19, 2011 4:46 PM

All replies

• Sounds like you were doing the right thing, edit the template, select the focused state in the states panel and make the changes you want. What I don't understand is what this did incorrectly?

What do you want the appearance to be in the unfocused state vs focused?

Tuesday, July 19, 2011 3:15 PM
  • Thanks Chuck. Actually I didn't quite describe my desired behavior quite right (too much hit and miss are garbling my head).  I'd like to have the unfocused state to have a transparent background and transparent border (look just like a textblock, basically), but when the user gives it focus, I'd like the background to appears as normal textbox background and border (on the phone, basically semi-transparent white).

Problem is, is that when I set either the unfocused or the focused state's background and border color, the other focus state changes to match. 

Here's what do:

1. Create a textbox, put some text in it.
    2. Right click on the textbox and choose Edit Template -> Edit a Copy
    3. Give it a name and define it in the user control (that I plopped the textbox in)