none
Local sequence cannot be used error - joining DataTable with LINQ to SQL datatable RRS feed

• Question

• This is my first attempt at LINQ programming, and boy, do I need some handholding! Could anyone tell my why this query works:

var products = from myTable in myDT.AsEnumerable() select myTable;
    var myData = from p in products
      join d in db.tblicInventory on p.Field<string>("strProductID") equals d.strProductID
      select p;

while this one does not:

var myData2 = from d in db.tblicInventory
      join tbl in products on d.strProductID equals tbl.Field<string>("strProductID")
      select d;

In both cases, db.tblICInventory was created via LINQ to SQL and myDT is a DataTable. 

When I evaluate MyData, it shows as as an iEnumerable containing a collection of DataRows.

When I evaluate MyData2, it shows the following error:

"Local sequence cannot be used in LINQ to SQL implementations of query operators except the Contains operator."

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve.

Tuesday, May 10, 2011 4:25 PM

Answers

• Hi Steve;

To your question, "Have you any suggestion how I can rewrite the query to return all of the records from tblICInventory where tblICInventory.strProductID = myDTstrproductID?"

The following queries will return all the records in tblICInventory table that have matching strProductID values in the myDT data table.

// This query will return all the values for the column strproductID 
    // in the data table as a List<String>
    var prodIDs = (from pid in myDT.AsEnumerable()
            select pid.Field<string>("strproductID")).ToList();

// Now we can query the SQL server using the list from the above query
    // to get the needed results
    var myData = from d in db.tblicInventory
           where prodIDs.Contains(d.strProductID)
           select d;

// Now this works because Linq to SQL takes the list prodIDs from the
    // first query and builds a parameter list to be used in SQL server