Accessing specialized device driver via Read/WriteFile APIs from Metro app

Question

• Hi All,

Forgive me for my plain question - I have no experience in windows driver development and hardly distinguish between umdf and kmdf drivers.

My problem is:

I have a specialized device and a custom driver which I'm now accessing via DeviceIOControl and CreateFile/ReadFile/WriteFile combo. I've been tasked with assessing the effort needed to port that solution to work with Metro aps.

From what I've seen on Build conference presentations and read on MSDN, I know that for making IOCTLs I'll need to author a WinRT proxy component which will call CreateDeviceAccessInstance() (assuming the device interface is already marked as privileged, metadata is there and the app packaging advertises the need for calling custom device).

The question is: what about the part where my code uses ReadFile/WriteFile?I can see that IDeviceIocontrol interface exposes only IOCTL functions (sync/async versions), but from one of the presentations on Build conference I recall the presenter saying that the only driver-side change required for Win8 is changing one bit of information (i assume this is the 'privileged' property to be set in INF)

I'm certainly no expert when it comes to drivers, hence the question - can I still use my driver the way I used to in Win8? Is there any interface which'll expose device handle to me (or is it planned to add such interface to  CreateDeviceAccessInstance call?). I've looked at CreateFile2() fn but from what I see in the docs, it is not tailored to work with devices at all.

To put in in other words - I'm trying to avoid any changes in driver code (actually it is developed by different team in my company so I don't even have its source code yet). Is it possible to access the functions in driver which are responsible for ReadFile/WriteFile handling with some generic IOCTL call? 

Thanks

--Matt

for
    • Edited by warmus Wednesday, March 07, 2012 6:07 PM