Display a Value Associated with List Box Selected Item to a TextBox RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am relatively new to Visual Studio or visual basic, and I'm trying to create a kind of filter application. I'm trying to display a value associated with a listbox selected item in a textbox where the associated value will be fetched from an access database.

My code is working but not exactly the way I want it to. You see, it only displays correctly for the first time I select an item in the listbox. For example, when I select "George", "Tooling" appears in the textbox. But when I select "Washington" next, the value in the textbox does not change.

I hope you can help me. Or if there's another way around it. Thank you.

Sample Table from Database: 
    Firstname Lastname
    George Tooling
    Washington Seeker

And Here's my code so far:

Class MainWindow
        Dim con As New OleDb.OleDbConnection
        Dim dbProvider As String
        Dim dbsource As String
        Dim dbfolder As String
        Dim db As String
        Dim fulldbpath As String
        Dim SampleDataset As New DataSet
        Dim da As OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
        Dim sql As String
        Dim SelectedLB As String

//Adding Listbox Items
    Private Sub Listbox_Initialized(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Listbox.Initialized
            Listbox.Items.Add("George")
            Listbox.Items.Add("Washington")
    End Sub

//Code for when an item in the listbox is selected   
    Private Sub Listbox_SelectionChanged(sender As Object, e As SelectionChangedEventArgs) Handles Listbox.SelectionChanged
    //Selected item stored in a variable
    SelectedLB = Listbox.SelectedItem()

//establishing connection to the database
            dbProvider = "PROVIDER=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;"
    db = "/SampleDB.mdb"
            dbfolder = Environment.GetFolderPath(Environment.SpecialFolder.MyDocuments)
            fulldbpath = dbfolder & db
            dbsource = "Data Source = " & fulldbpath