Best Practices (Network / AD) - website, SP, Exchange setup questions RRS feed

• Question

• Disclaimer: I am new to both DNP and WSP.  Have have deployed WSP purely for testing and do not have any live users on them.

My questions have more to do with recommendations for network setup and AD.

1. While currently, the IIS/Website server is not running AD (local accounts) I'm curious if it should? Since we would be bringing Exchange and Sharepoint online shortly after the windows hosting (IIS/Website), I'm curious if it would be better to use AD and tie all the machines together on the same domain.  (Probably easier from a management perspective?)

2. NAT vs no NAT.  With the cpanel servers that we currently run, it has become normal practice for us to utilize transparent firewalls rather than NAT.  However, I see that WSP/DNP supports internal and external IPs allowing for the systems to be deployed in a NAT environment.  Is this the better way to go?  (It would certainly make things easier to move IPs later if it was needed.  Looking for some advice here as we'd prefer to set things up this way behind an ASA if there aren't any big hurtles to overcome.

3. Servers - In our development environment, we currently have 4 physically servers.  The thought was that one was used for the website/IIS/WSP Control, 2 for the Exchange setup (1 CAS/HUB, 1 MBX), , and the 4th for the SP server to get us off the ground.  Does anyone have any thoughts on this so that we don't get ourselves "stuck" and unable to expand easily? If more severs are preferable in an initial deployment for this setup, we'd rather make the change now to avoid expansion issues later.